Cecilia Conrad to receive NEA's Westerfield Award

National Economic Association will present the Westerfield Award to former IAFFE President Cecilia Conrad.

The award will be presented during the NEA's ASSA luncheon on January 5, 2018, at 12:30pm in Philadelphia, PA USA.

The Samuel Z. Westerfield Award is presented periodically to a black economist in recognition of their distinguished service, outstanding scholarship, and achievement of high standards of excellence. The award is named after its first recipient, Ambassador Westerfield, “an outstanding teacher and university administrator, a dedicated official in government service, a talented international diplomat, and a successful and avid builder of institutions dedicated to economic development and the appreciation of the black experience.”

Congratulations Cecilia!

Click HERE for more information and to purchase luncheon tickets from the NEA.

Deere to receive LASA's Kalman Silvert Award

Feminist Economics Associate Editor, Carmen Diana Deere, is the recipient of the Latin American Studies Association’s 2018 Kalman Silvert Award.  This is the association’s highest honor, given for distinguished lifetime contributions in research and professional service to the study of Latin America.  LASA is the largest international professional organization of Latinamericanists, with over 12,000 members.  Deere is Distinguished Professor Emerita of Latin American Studies & Food and Resource Economics at the University of Florida, Professor Emerita of Economics at the University of Massachusetts (where she taught from 1977 to 2004), and Honorary Professor-Researcher Emerita at the Latin American Faculty of Social Science (FLACSO) in Quito, where she continues to teach periodically.  Deere will receive the award at the LASA International Congress in Barcelona in May, 2018.