Winner of 2021 Agarwal Book Prize + Honorable Mention

April 1, 2021


The International Association for Feminist Economics announces that the winner of the 2021 Suraj Mal and Shyama Devi Agarwal Book Prize is Women in Turkey: Silent Consensus in the Age of Neoliberalism and Islamic Conservatism, by Gamze Çavdar and Yavuz Yaşar. (Publisher: Routledge). The Prize Committee found the winning book to be highly original in its treatment of the relationship between neoliberalism, religiously structured patriarchy, and gender in Turkey. The authors trace the evolution of Islamist conservative thought, which had initially stood in contradiction to neoliberal policies and values, but has now evolved to incorporate neoliberal values, with deep negative impacts on education, employment and health inequality by gender.

The Prize Committee also chose the book Gender and Work in Global Value Chains: Capturing the Gains, by Stephanie Barrientos to receive an Honorable Mention. (Publisher: Cambridge University Press). The Committee found Barrientos' book to be an important contribution to our understanding of the evolving global production system that is based on global value chains. Building on detailed empirical work in a variety of industries and countries, Barrientos sheds light on how the new global production system has shaped gendered patterns of work and pay, demonstrating the roadblocks to gender equality as well as possibilities for women’s economic empowerment.

Both decisions were unanimous. The prize committee noted that they are both "timely books that will make a substantial contribution to the  feminist economics literature." The 2021 committee members are Uma Rani Amara, Jane Humphries, and Stephanie Seguino (chair). 

The Suraj Mal and Shyama Devi Agarwal Book Prize, was established by Bina Agarwal (IAFFE’s first President from the Global South) to honor her late parents, who, throughout their lives and with great generosity, supported young women to pursue their dreams of higher education, and chart out a path of intellectual excellence. It recognizes books that demonstrate new pathways in theory, methodology, empirical analysis, or policy, on any aspect of gender and the economy, and relating to any part of the world. The Prize, along with the Honorable Mention, will be awarded at the 29th IAFFE Annual Conference, June 22-25, 2021.

The authors of the winning book will receive an honorarium of $1000. The winner and the honorable mention will each receive a citation prepared by the Prize Committee, and will make a presentation on the books’ subjects at the 2021 IAFFE Annual Conference.

Click HERE for more information.

Agarwal Prize Contact Person
Andrea Collins
Business Manager & Conference Coordinator
International Association for Feminist Economics