Serve on the IAFFE Board of Directors

February 25, 2018

IAFFE Nominating Committee seeks input in an essential part of IAFFE governance, electing the new group of IAFFE leaders. We need your nominations of candidates for IAFFE President-Elect and for the IAFFE Board of Directors by March 31, 2018.  Self-nominations are also welcome.

As a result of ongoing discussions about democratic processes within IAFFE, this year our process will be somewhat different from the recent past. In particular, the Board has asked the Nominating Committee to propose at least two candidates for President-elect for members to choose from. And as in the past, we are again seeking six candidates for three positions on the Board.
Drawing from your suggestions at this stage, the Nominating Committee will present a slate of nominees for these positions to the IAFFE Board at its upcoming meeting in New Paltz, NY, in June 2018.  Elections will follow in October after the slate has been approved by the Board.

All board members are expected to believe in and support IAFFE's mission. They should also have the time, skills and commitment to work with IAFFE and to help expand its outreach, stability, diversity, and advancement.  Also, the Nominating Committee seeks candidates that will help the Board become more demographically diverse in nationality/country of origin, ethnicity/race, gender, LGBTQ status, and age, and who possess valuable and diverse skills, experiences, and core competencies, such as mission-related scholarship, mission-related teaching, nonprofit finance/risk management, nonprofit governance, development/fundraising/philanthropy, organizational leadership, and strategic planning. 

Current board members who are serving their first terms, as well as past board members, are also eligible for nomination.  Current IAFFE board members are listed on the IAFFE website at

Please send nominations, including self-nominations, to the Nominating Committee via email to Lee Badgett at by March 31, 2018.

Thank you in advance for your ideas!
Lee Badgett
Chair, IAFFE Nominating Committee

IAFFE Nominating Committee: Lee Badgett, Sakiko Fukuda-Parr, Ipek Ilkkaracan, and Dzodzi Tsikata


Posted February 26, 2018