Agarwal Book Prize

Suraj Mal and Shyama Devi Agarwal Book Prize

 The Suraj Mal and Shyama Devi Agarwal Book Prize is awarded biennially for a work of original scholarship in the field of feminist economics.

The prize has been established by Bina Agarwal (IAFFE’s first President from the Global South) to honor her late parents, who, throughout their lives and with great generosity, supported young women to pursue their dreams of higher education, and chart out a path of intellectual excellence.

The Prize carries an honorarium of $1,000 USD and a citation describing the book’s merits, written by the Prize Committee. An additional amount (up to $1,500) will be available to assist in covering the Prize recipient’s expenses to attend the Prize ceremony at the IAFFE Annual Conference. The Prize recipient will be invited to make a presentation or participate in an event at such conference related to the subject of the book. If there are two authors of the winning book, they will share the honorarium as well as the travel support.

The 2023 Prize will be presented at the 2023 IAFFE Annual Conference.  Subsequent Prizes will be presented every other year at the IAFFE Annual Conference.

Call for Nominations, 2023 Agarwal Book Prize (121.6 KB)


Nominations Submission Deadline Extended to : May 31, 2022

2021 Agarwal Book Prize

Prize Committee | Stephanie Seguino (chair), Uma Amara, Jane Humphries

Prize Announcement


Citation | Gamze Çavdar & Yavuz Yaşar (641.3 KB)

Citation | Stephanie Barrientos (636.0 KB)

2019 Agarwal Book Prize

Prize Committee | Diane Elson (chair), Stephanie Seguino, Uma Amara

Prize Announcement

Prize Citation (1.0 MB)

Winning the Agarwal book prize in 2019 validated that my book Politicized Microfinance mattered. I knew that my work was valued when it won the 2018 Du Bois Book Award. But the Agarwal book award was life changing – this award gave me the courage to apply for a new job and leave a difficult workplace. I am humbled to have received the book award. I thank the reviewers for their labour and the generous citation and thank Bina for setting up this wonderful IAFFE award in honour of her late parents.  -- Caroline Shenaz Hossein